Ten questions from the “Boomer Lit.” blog hop.

First off my thanks to Claude for tagging me in this Blog Hop AND for all the effort she puts into the Goodreads website. You might want to check out her own book “Hook in the Sky.”

My next book? Well, if you read my first book “Truths Blood” you will see it ends with a sequel in mind. I anticipate it being a three book series. Being my first book there was of course a powerful learning curve that has left me wondering what direction to take when publishing my next book. Which publisher to go with AND whether to publish a book or maybe just an ebook? I was disappointed when I found out the price of the “real” book was as high as it was. Ebooks may be the way to go because they are not as expensive, but I’m open to comments from those who have more experience than I.

I am also considering a memoir. My oldest son has been twisting my arm. Working on a farm, many miles away from home at the age of 12 intrigues him, as do my college years, though much of that time will likely be left to his imagination. I find it very difficult to write about myself, so another topic that has just come up, about real life hillbillies, may be the direction I go. I will soon be given the opportunity to read diaries from 30’s and 40’s by some real life, hard scrabble people and how they lived and survived. I see the potential for a couple books there. So there are definitely some different opportunities in front of me. They will all likely have to wait a bit though as spring is coming and my honey bees and organic garden/fruit will take a lot of my free time.

So on to the blog hop questions.

1. What is the working title? – “Truth’s Blood” was the original book. Since it will be a series I will need a subtitle for the sequel – “Freedom Found”? – “Back to the Future”? I don’t have anything set in stone yet. I encourage you to read the book and send me suggestions if you like.

2. Where did the idea for the book come from? – The simple answer is everyday life because we are all living it. I’m a great fan of history and it has always puzzled me why it’s so difficult for mankind to learn from the past. Here we are in the 21st century, committing the same errors as the Chinese did some three millenniums ago, and more recently the Romans, Germans, Italians and others. I dont want to get political because I’m not a political guy. If you want to find the truth you cannot be for or against something because the truth simply is. So I dont support either side of the political spectrum. They have both brought us warmongering around the globe and trillion dollar deficits that will at least lower our standard of living if not eventually collapse our nation entirely. Again, thats not my opinion, its simple history. So basically, the answer to the question is that I took the lessons of history and applied them to our current society to come up with a fictional story.

3. What is the genre of the book? – Living history? Just kidding. I suppose apocalyptic because of the storyline, but there is a small but growing genre of “end of the U.S. as we know it” kind of books. Wasn’t my intent to fit in with that group but that’s probably the closest. I do consider what I’ve written part of “Boomer Lit” because even though its fiction, if our nation doesnt get a handle on its money printing ways we will all be dealing with these issues one way or the other.

4. Which actors would you choose to play in a movie rendition? – OK, I have to admit to not being much of a movie fan of current movies so I’m not real up on current actors. Earnest Borgnine would probably make a good “Monk” though. Or maybe Clint Eastwood, though Monk has a softer side than Clint ever portrayed.

5. What is the one sentence synopsis of your book? – The U.S. can no longer pay its debts and when China occupies the nation to collect “real assets”, Cliffson and his wife struggle to survive a nation in turmoil while attempting to rescue their oldest son from the burning city of Seattle and their youngest son from a Chinese labor camp.

6. Will my book be self-published or represented by an agency? – Like many first time authors today I have self-published my first book. I am attempting to get on board with an agency that would be willing to take on the sequels.

7. How long did it take you to write your first draft of the manuscript? – That’s a good question. Initially I was writing it more for myself than anything else. Then oldest my son encouraged me to get serious about it and publish it. So it probably took longer than most, but I would say around 18 months.

8. What other books would you compare this story to within your genre? – Being a relatiely tiny space in the literary world its hard to compare and you likely havent heard of many of the them unless this genre is of particular interest to you, but to throw out a couple I would say “Going Home” and “Lights Out.”

9. Who or what inspired you to write this book? – As mentioned above I give my oldest son credit for pushing me to publish it. The writing thing has probably always been a seed within me that lay dormant until recently. I had an english teacher my senior year in high school who asked me to take a test and as part of it, write a short story. I hated english, but humored the kindly old gal (ha, she was probably younger than I am now) and took the test. She in turn used it to get me two different writing scholarships at two different colleges. I was 17 and couldn’t even imagine myself as a writer so I never took advantage of it. Funny, because in the last few years I’ve taken a number of writing classes to help develope whatever ability I might have. Funny how things come around like that.

10. What else about your book might pique your readers interest? – There is a lot of history referenced in the book and in fact each chapter begins with a quote, but don’t misunderstand, this is not some dry history thing. Far from it because it all happens in the future. History is used instead to develope my characters and give you a sense of their backgrounds. I believe you will fall in love with Monk, one of the main characters. He is an amalgomation of many people I’ve known and I have received numerous positive comments about how well readers like him. Naturally in a debut novel no one gets it all right the first time and I already know of areas where I can improve, but based on feedback from a number of folks, I do believe I accomplished the two main goals I set out to accomplish. The first being a compelling storyline that draws you in and keeps you turning the pages and the second being the development of strong characters people love and can identify with. Those two elements combine to make most stories an enjoyable read and I believe I have accomplished that.

Now, to continue the blog hop, I would like to tag Betsy Ashton and see what she is up to. Betsy, are you ready for a few questions? Boomer people want to know!

Leave a Reply

